#299 I miss Italian food foreigners cannot handle – 1

Who doesn’t like Italian cuisine?

We have a reputation.

But sometimes, reading the menu, foreigner tourists can find something they don’t recognize… or handle.

What’s better than a good steak?

Well, this is bistecca di cavallo (horse steak). In the US is illegal. Italians would be very surprise to hear that, for us horse meat is perfectly fine, many doctors recommend that to anaemic patients.

What about a nice antipasto? A good plate of bresaola with rucola and parmigiano? Well ask specifically for beef bresaola, otherwise they might serve you a Bresaola di cavallo

Coniglio alla cacciatora. I know. They are so cute. But chicks are cute too.

My grandfather had chickens and rabbits, as a child I used to play with little bunnies… and I perfectly knew that they would have ended up in a stew sooner of later…

We are ok with that, and our kids too… I mean… check this out: omogenizzato di coniglio, rabbit baby food!

They say when you are in Rome do what the Romans do… well you don’t have to, but don’t have an heart attack if you see a “carne di cavallo” sign

4 thoughts on “#299 I miss Italian food foreigners cannot handle – 1

  1. Pingback: #306 I miss italian food foreigners cannot handle – 2 | misshome

  2. Pingback: #309 I miss Italian foods foreigners cannot handle – 3 | misshome

  3. Pingback: #312 I miss Italian foods foreigners cannot handle – 4 | misshome

  4. Pingback: #318 I miss Italian foods foreigners cannot handle – 5 | misshome

Leave a Reply

