#150 I miss Italian creative scaramanzie -1

I am not a superstitious girl.

I normally facepalm (yes it’s a verb) when I see someone concerned for a black cat crossing the road, sometimes instead the complex cultural systems that originates specific superstitions or Italian reactions or creative scaramanzie ‘ways to keep bad luck away’, make me smile.

Many scaramanzie or many beliefs about what porta sfortuna ‘brings bad luck’ are just a smart way to forbid people from doing stupid things.

For example, speaking of olio d’oliva…

…they say that spilling olive oil, brings bad luck, and breaking a whole bottle is a death omen!

Of course they say that, olive oil was (and still) is so precious!

4 thoughts on “#150 I miss Italian creative scaramanzie -1

  1. Pingback: #213 I miss Italian creative scaramanzia – 5 | misshome

  2. Pingback: #219 I miss Italian creative scaramanzia – 6 | misshome

  3. Pingback: #222 I miss Italian creative scaramanzia – 7 | misshome

  4. Pingback: #267 I miss Italian creative scaramanzia – 8 | misshome

Leave a Reply

