#25 I miss piazza

In the Mediterranean Countries (Italy, Spain, France, Greece…) the central square (Agorà in Greek, Forum in Latin) has always been the heart of the city. The place where people meet, politician gave their speeches, markets and public shows took place.

The most important Italian Churches have a beautiful piazza in front of them.

The most glamour restaurants and bars are in a nice piazza

Many of the most important events take place on a square: the palio in Siena

Concerts, festivals, opera…

E allora, dove ci vediamo stasera?

– In piazza!

(- ‘And so, where do you wanna meet this night?

– ‘In the piazza!’)

Miss it.

8 thoughts on “#25 I miss piazza

  1. What a beautiful post and amazing pictures. The older generations of my family were born in Italy and growing up it was like we were back in the homeland. Italian was spoken in the home, family dinners (20+ people) were a must and on a regular basis, the food was always homemade and the conversations and stories were always loud! Since those generations have passed away, I feel like my heritage has died with them. I recently read a book called “One American Woman Fifty Italian Men” by Lynne Ashdown, http://lynneashdown.com/, that really put me back in touch with my love of everything Italian. One day I’m going to visit the family I have left in Italy and immerse myself back in to the amazing culture. Thank you for the post and the pictures, it really inspires me to make plans to travel to Italy, sooner rather than later!

  2. Pingback: #28 I miss mercato | misshome

  3. I do trust all of the ideas you have introduced in your post.

    They are really convincing and will definitely work.
    Still, the posts are too short for newbies.

    May you please prolong them a little from next time?

    Thanks for the post.

  4. Hi there i am kavin, its my first occasion to commenting anywhere,
    when i read this piece of writing i thought i could also
    make comment due to this good article.

Leave a Reply

